Research Excellence Awards

Informed by leading edge research from a broad range of disciplinary perspectives, Massey researchers have helped to positively shape lives and communities here in New Zealand and around the world.

The recipients of these awards epitomise our values of creativity, innovation and connectedness.

There are four award categories in the Research Excellence Awards section:

  • Individual Research Supervisor
  • Individual Research
  • Early Career Medal
  • Team Research

Award for Individual Research Supervisor Medal

Professor Dianne Brunton - Institute of Natural and Mathematical Sciences Professor Dianne Brunton

Professor Brunton has supervised 14 PhDs and 18 master’s degree completions for students from 14 countries since joining Massey in 2004, with an average of one postgraduate thesis completion every five months. The students have worked on a diverse range of research in ecology and conservation biology. She currently supervises seven PhD and three master’s students, as well as co-supervising 11 other postgraduates.

She also heads the Institute of Natural and Mathematical Sciences and holds responsibility for its graduate studies, is a member of the College of Sciences’ Postgraduate Management Committee and a doctoral convenor for Massey’s Graduate Research School.

An ecologist with expertise on native birdsong and conservation of New Zealand birds, she has more than 120 scientific publications.

View Professor Brunton's profile


Individual Research  Award

Professor Velmurugu (Ravi) Ravindran Professor Velmurugu (Ravi) Ravindran

School of Veterinary Sciences

Professor Ravindran is a world leader in poultry nutrition. He is widely acknowledged as a researcher who helped create the foundations for much of the current understanding of feed enzyme technology – maximising the utilisation of available feed resources and lowering the environmental impact from animal production. However, he also made great strides in nutrient metabolism, feed evaluation, amino acid availability, gut flora management and early nutrition in poultry.

Professor Ravindran’s scholarly contributions to these areas of research have been documented in more than 550 scientific works, including 267 peer-reviewed publications, six books and 36 book chapters. In 2015, he was the recipient of McMeekan Memorial Award and Massey’s Research Medal – Individual College Research Award.

View Professor Ravindran's profile


Early Career Medal Award

Dr Alexander Melnikov Dr Alexander Melnikov

Institute of Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Joining Massey in 2015, Dr Melnikov has produced remarkable results in a short time for a researcher in his field. Computability theory with applications in algebra is a highly technical area at the interface of pure mathematics and theoretical computer science.

He has designed several research topics, including a new approach to computable analysis via non- standard computation models and a new subject of “primitive recursive” algebra. He has published more than 20 research papers in international journals in two years, including the Journal of Algebra, and solved technical problems in the field, including a 60-year-old problem posed by the famous Russian mathematician Maltsev.

His work in the area of mathematical logic and effective algebra is an area of strategic importance for the University and the world. In 2016, he was awarded The New Zealand Mathematical Society Early-Career Award and is currently the primary investigator for a Marsden Fund project.

View Dr Melnikov's profile


Award for Research Team Medal

The Food Microbiology Research Team Food Microbiology research team

Biofilms are slimy clusters of bacteria that cling to surfaces and cause significant problems in the food industry, including food spoilage and the risk of potentially serious illnesses such as listeria. Led by Professor Steve Flint and Dr Jon Palmer, the team has been a powerhouse at Massey since its creation in 1996. It has provided valuable support to a wide range of New Zealand industries with the majority of its work focussed on understanding biofilm growth in the dairy industry and a recent branching out to other parts of the food industry, such as meat, seafood and fruit and vegetables.

Members have assisted in industry investigations, including the Fonterra clostridium botulinum scare in 2013 and the listeria contamination of Leaderbrands lettuce last year.

Success in fundamental and applied research has been achieved, with the team contributing to 20 book chapters, producing 100 peer-reviewed publications and giving 93 conference presentations since 2006.

Members are internationally recognised for their research, being invited to present work at the International Biofilm Summit, the American Dairy Science Association conference and last years China International Food Safety and Quality conference.

Previous winners

Individual Research Supervisor Award

Recipients of the Individual Research Supervisor Award

2016 | Professor Kevin Stafford - Institute of Vet, Animal and Biomedical Sciences

2015 | Professors Regina Scheyvens, Martin Young and Nicolas Lopez-Villalobos

2014 | Professor Cord Heuer

2013 | Professor Steve Morris

2012 | Professor John O'Neill

2011 | Professor Emeritus Mike McManus

2010 | Professor Emeritus Ian Evans

2009 | Professor Hugh Blair

Individual Research Award

Recipients of the Individual Research Award

2016 | Professor Marlena Kruger and Professor Tony Parker

2015 | Professor Glyn Harper

2014 | Distinguished Professor Paul Rainey

2013 | Distinguished Professor Sally Morgan

2012 | Professor Nigel French

2011 | Distinguished Professor Paul Moughan

2010 | Professor Geoff Jameson

2009 | Distinguished Professors Anne Noble and Peter Schwerdtfeger

Early Career Research Award

Recipients of the Early Career Research Award

2016 | Dr David Aguirre, Dr Jodie Hunter and Shannon Te Ao

2015 | David Hayman, Tanya Marriott and Natasha Tassell-Matamua

2014 | Lee Stoner, Philip Steer, Jane Allison and Jason Wargent

2013 | Mary Breheny

2012 | Karen Stockin, Sarah-Jane Paine and Max Schleser

2011 | Lara Shepherd

2010 | Murray Cox and Wayne Patrick

2009 | Aiqian Ye, Leigh Signal and Matthias Lein

Team Research Award

Recipients of the Team Research Award

2016 | Animal Welfare Science and Bioethics Centre

2015 | Bioprotection Research Team

2014 | Centre for Postharvest Refrigeration

2013 | Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health

2012 | Health and Ageing Research Team

2011 | Sleep/Wake Research Centre

2010 | Sheep Research Group

2009 | Volcanic Risk Solutions

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey